Look Who’s Back…….

jh

 

I know it has been about a month since I last wrote my little Merry Christmas note but I finally had a little bit of free time and, more importantly, I had something to say> Well, a few things as a matter of fact. I decided to ease myself back in to the whole blog writing process by doing of my trademark hodge podge multi topic “Random Thoughts” post. The next few weeks will be extremely busy for me, but I really had a hankering to write this cold winter evening.

Let’s get started!

nightwish_showtime_storytime_live_cd

WOW!!!! I received the blu ray/cd edition of the latest Nightwish release “Showtime, Storytime”and it is perhaps the best sounding concert footage I have ever seen. I have KISS concert DVDs and Lordi concert DVDs but I have to say that this recording was head and shoulders above any other. I was waiting with much anticipation to pop this baby in the ole blu ray player and I am 100% serious when I say that this blu ray changed my life.

I have always been a huge Nightwish fan (borderline fanatic) and I knew that Floor Jansen was someone special as she appeared to combine the best qualities and talents of both Tarja Turunen and Anette Olzon. Her performance at Wacken, where this was recorded, cemented that to me. Floor and Marco have any amazing vocal synergy that truly resonates when they sing together. The fate of Nightwish is in greats hands with Floor in the band.

5070_tn

I love, love, love my Doctor Who blu ray box set. It has the series in blu ray format from the 2005 restart all in blu ray, an Eleventh Doctor sonic screwdriver universal remote control, a comic book and three art cards featuring Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant and Matt Smith. I also picked up the blu ray edition of the 50th anniversary event “Day Of The Doctor” and have pre-ordered “Time Of The Doctor.” Hell, I just bought the 2 animated David Tennant episodes on DVD as well.

Never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I would watch Doctor Who, let alone like it enough to buy all of these items. I have gone back through the older or classic series and have found it to be a mixed bag. The Tom Baker and Patrick Troughton have been my favorites so far. I also thought that Paul McGann was not that bad as The Doctor in the infamous Doctor Who Movie. I can not wait to see Peter Capaldi’s take on the character!

Sidney Crosby Wallpaper 5

We are in the midst of another grueling NHL season and once again Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins is doing what he does best, being the best player in the world. Mario Lemieux will always be my all time favorite player but without a doubt Sidney Crosby is my current favorite player. He is also making his case to be the captain of Team Canada that will take to the ice in Sochi for the 2014 Olympics.

How good of a season is Crosby having? Well, he is leading the NHL with 63 points in 43 games. That is 23 goals and 39 assists in 43 games but let’s extrapolate these numbers to a full 82 game NHL season shall we?  If he remains healthy and he continues to produce at the rate that he has been, we could see him top out at 44 goals, 74 assists and 118 points. If he gets one of his hot streaks I would not be surprised to see him hit 125+ points.

 

thor-the-dark-world-blu-ray

 

Imagine my surprise when I saw that Marvel announced that after just debuting in to theatre this past November, that Thor: The Dark World would be released in February on blu ray and DVD. I already have my copy of the 3D blu ray, blu ray, DVD and difital copy bundle already pre-ordered months ago on Amazon.ca. In my lifetime I can not remember a movie going from the theatre to home video in such a very short period of time.

As you can probably guess, I am very excited for the opportunity to add this movie to my Marvel Cinematic Universe blu ray collection and even more excited to add another piece to my Thor collection. I really liked this movie and think it is my favorite of the solo Marvel movies.

Well. that is it for now folks. Hope you have enjoyed!

============================================================

“Like” My Facebook Page here:  https://www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog

Follow me on Twitter @jhuskins69

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in About Me, blog, Comics, Hockey, Movies, Music, Television. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

