Updated Bucket List

the-bucket-list-logoIt has been awhile since I have sat down and updated a bucket list for myself. I know that people all have a different manner and thought process when they sit down to determine what makes their list. Some people will set their sights ridiculously high while others seem to be too nervous to spread their wings and just “go for it.”

I decided to try and be 100% completely honest and realistic with my list. I wanted to put down a variety of things that range from having a good chance to happen, to those that would need a little work and/or luck to happen. Without any further ado…….

1.    See Nightwish live in concert

Tuska_20130630_-_Nightwish_-_02

Marco Hietala and Floor Jansen of Nightwish

This one should really not be a shock to anyone who knows me at all, as they would know of my extreme love for Finland’s own Nightwish. There is something special about this band and the music that they craft. It really is disappointing that the band only tours world wide every 3 to 4 years and when they do, the only Canadian dates are both Toronto and Montreal. Knowing the chance that they would play in my home province of Nova Scotia is next to none, I have decided that I will travel to one of those places to see them next time. I really NEED to see Nightwish live.

2. See Lordi live in concert.

maxresdefault

Mr. Lordi, Amen and Hella of Lordi

Why do I have to love these amazing bands that are based out of Finland? I must really like to torture myself musically eh? Pretty much you can copy and paste what I wrote about Nightwish and place it here about Lordi but there is one difference. You see. Lordi does not usually tour all over the world when they release a new album. They tour all over Europe and do all the major festivals but very, very rarely come to this side of the world. It may almost be easier to go to them…..

3. Travel to Finland and soak up the culture

helsinki

Helsinki, Finland

As much as I love Nightwish and Lordi, it may be easier to just visit their home country when they are active to see them live. To be honest, Finland is one of the countries I would love to visit someday. Add Sweden, Japan, England, France, Norway and Russia to the list as well. However, it is Finland that has my attention and interest at this time. It would be even cooler to see Nightwish and Lordi during the Finnish hockey season, so I can take in a game there as well.

4. See the Pittsburgh Penguins live in Pittsburgh

chris-kunitz-sidney-crosby-CELEBRATE-evgeni-malkin-goal

Chris Kunitz, Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Ok, I will admit it. If I had the chance to see the Pittsburgh Penguins play it does not have to be at the Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh. I just think it would be extremely cool to see the team at home and take in everything that the arena has to offer. I never had the chance to see Mario Lemieux play live but I really want to see Sidney Crosby play. Players like Mario and Sid only come around once in a lifetime and it would be very cool to be able to say I saw him play.

5. Toronto Comic Con

toronto-comic-con

I would really love to be able to go to San Diego Comic Con but I realize that there is a better chance of me getting a date with Scarlett Johansson than getting a chance to go to SDCC. I really think it would be such a kick ass idea to go be surrounded by other comic book fanatics and really have the chance to talk shop with them. It would be like I was with an extended family I guess. It would also be very cool to be able to sit in on panels, see the merchandise and have the chance to meet some of my favorite comic book creators.

6. RTX 2014

logo

Another convention event I would love to attend would be the RTX event put on by Roosterteeth. The event happens in Austin, Texas and is hosted by one of the most creative and entertaining group of people in the world. The men and women of Roosterteeth are one of the reasons that I no longer have cable, as I view their programming religiously. I have so much respect for Burnie Burns and the crew that he has put together, I could not think of a better way to spend a long weekend than with them.

7. Learn to play bass guitar

 

REVOLVER BASS PK - SSLB11 PK

No matter what band I listen to I have always been more into who the bass player is and what they are doing during a song. Even if we look at my favorite bands, my favorite members of the band are always the bass players. KISS = Gene Simmons, Nightwish = Marco Hietala, Motley Crue = Nikki Sixx, Lordi = Ox and I could go on and on. So I guess it is only a natural extension of that to want to learn how to play bass guitar myself. I would only want a starter’s kit like the one pictured above and a learner’s guide or something to teach myself. It really is a dream of mine and I hope I can achieve it.

8. Purchase an Xbox One

Xbox-One-With-Kinect

Now I know I have written before that I had pre-ordered an Xbox One, but a few weeks ago I decided to cancel it. Not because I am getting a Wii U or a Playstation 4 but because I realized that there would be no games that I would want to purchase in the next 6 month or so for the system, so there would really be no sense in me following through with the pre-order at this time. I know that there are special achievements linked to the pre-order and day one release but I have never been much of an achievement hunter (pun intended.) I will wait and probably grab the system when the next NHL game or WWE game comes out next year.

=============================================================

“Like” My Facebook Page here:  https://www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog

Follow me on Twitter @jhuskins69

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in Comics, Hockey, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Updated Bucket List

  1. Fantastic bucket list! Seeing Lordi live and travelling to Finland are on my bucket list as well! You know what? I think you just inspired me to share my own bucket list on my blog! Thank you!

    • Do it!!!! It made me feel so much better putting it down on paper….so to speak. It made me think about it in a “real” sense. Also made me think of how I could make some of these happen.

Leave a Reply

