REVIEW: IRON MAN 3 ***SPOILERS***

iron_man_3_poster_final

I wanted to write this review while it was fresh in my mind as I saw the film yesterday here in lovely Halifax, Nova Scotia. I went with my usual Marvel movie buddy and decided to downgrade to just the Real 3D format instead of the overwhelming Imax 3D.

As with my reviews, I will do a list of Pros and Cons, and then end the review with my own thoughts. I do assign a numerical score and try to be as fair as I can in that assessment.

Suit up!!!

silver-centurion-iron-man-3

PROs

– The chemistry between Robert Downey Jr and Gwyneth Paltrow is what really drives this movie and the entire Iron Man franchise. There is something special between the two actors and it resonates down to the characters that they are playing.

– SILVER CENTURION!!!!! My all time favorite suit of Iron Man armor is finally in the movie! Not just that, but it is front and center in the epic end fight with Tony and Killian. I can not stress how very cool it was.

– I actually dug the change from War Machine to the Iron Patriot paint scheme. Even though it was not Norman Osborn’s set of armor from the Marvel comic event “Dark Reign,” it really made sense due to the story that was being told.

“Anyway, the point is, ever since that big dude with a hammer fell out of the sky, subtlety’s kinda had its day.” I loved this line. It maintains the cohesiveness of the cinematic universe and also really plays up the arrival of Thor on Earth as a huge deal.

– I can not put into words how epic the “Iron Men” scene that was the climax of the film truly was. Seeing all the suits of armor at one time really looked amazing in 3D and is the part of the film that everyone will talk about after seeing the film.

– The sequence of scenes where Tony jumps from suit to suit as he fights Killian was really well done. It really pushed the film up a notch and the added emotion of just watching Pepper fall to her “death” added a punch to the scene.

– I really liked the story being about Tony dealing with not just the events that happened in the Avengers but also his relationship with Pepper and his identity as Iron Man. There were people in the theatre who wanted more Iron Man moments but the Tony moments of the film were so compelling.

– As always with the Marvel films, the comedy was well timed and well done. RDJ always has great comedic timing but it is the manner that he delivers the lines that gives the bits an extra punch.

iron-man-3-iron-men

CONs

– Although the twist with the Mandarin made sense in the context of the story that was being told, I was disappointed in it. I read that Shane Black does not like the comic book character, so I do get it that he went the way that he did. Again, I do get why Black did what he did but I still think they could have had the Mandarin and Killian as co-villains for he film.

– I was not a huge fan of Killian being able to blow fire. It just felt very unneeded and just thrown in there because someone felt that it would be a cool idea. It didn’t add anything to the movie, except to cause multiple people to utter aloud in the theatre “Really?”

– The end of the film after Pepper’s return from supposed death felt rushed. They just glossed over the fact that Tony was able to cure her and then the decision to have the shrapnel removed just didn’t flow within that movie and the two previous. Why did he wait so long to have it done?

– I also consider the line that showed up that said “Tony Stark will return” at the end of the film. I hate those types of endings. SO Tony will return but Iron Man will not? I do not like the vagueness of the statement and it really just didn’t give me the same sense of “awesome” as the previous movie endings.

– Speaking of endings, boy was I disappointed in the end credits scene. I guess I am spoiled by the Marvel movies getting me excited for the next film but this one featured a scene between Tony and Bruce Banner. I know Hulk fans were probably excited, and it furthers the bro-mance between the two characters but I was hoping for something to build towards Thanos.

Marvel's Iron Man 3 (2013) Iron Man/Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.)

FINAL COMMENTS

Even though Iron Man 3 did have it’s issues, it was a very good movie to possibly end the franchise on. The status of Robert Downey Jr as Iron Man is currently up in the air, so Marvel did effectively tie up all the loose ends to the trilogy in this one. The potential loss of RDJ, as his contract is now up, could also be why we did not see an after credits scene tying Tony to the Guardians Of The Galaxy movie, as they would not want to potentially have to deal with Iron Man walking away from the franchise after shooting the scene.

SCORE:     8/10

===========================================================================

Check out my Pod Cast here: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5B05279A34ACFAC6&feature=plcp

“Like” My Facebook Page here: https://www.faceb0ook.com/

Follow me on Twitter @jhuskins69

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in Comics, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

