REVIEW: The Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase One Box Set

Marvel-Cinematic-Universe-Phase-One-Avengers-Assembled

I have to say that I am very excited to not only have the chance to review this product but also very excited to say that I own this product as well! Last year when The Marvel Cinematic Universe Phase One Box Set was announced, I immediately pre-ordered it ….even with the hefty price tag. Truth be told, I think I was smart to pre-order through amazon.ca. The set has a list price of 239.99 but I was able to snag it for 144.97 with free shipping.

I will review this set in a little bit of a different manner than I normally do with my reviews. I will review the collectibles, the packaging of the discs and the bonus features blu ray disc. I have also included pictures I have taken with my iphone of the collectibles so you can see what I am talking about.

THE PACKAGING:

I know a lot of people will take issues with the briefcase being completely all plastic but I really see no real problem with it. It is not like Marvel would have supplied an actual real briefcase on such a mass level. The only real issue I took with the brief case was the interior. Specifically the bottom portion that houses The Tesseract. I wish that the buttons on the lower left number pad were able to be actually pushed and I wish that there were actual wires running from the different nodes connected to the cube.

The artwork for the individual Blu Ray movies is simple but also amazing to me at the same time. I am really not huge fan of the card board disc sleeves but for how the ,ovies are stored in the case, I have come to terms with them being used.

I also love the box that the case comes in and have kept it for display purposes. It is the only case for the Avengers that has Loki on it, and for that reason alone I knew I would keep the box. When turned to the side, the box lists the movie logos for all 6 movies and I really like that they are in order of their release.

Packaging Score:  8.5/10

THE BONUS BLU RAY

527203_10152227158910400_1298759497_n

I have to say that this blu ray disc was much more than I was expecting. It had extra deleted scenes from Iron Man, Iron Man 2, Thor and The Avengers that did not make their own individual blu ray releases. I was disappointed that The Incredible Hulk and Captain America: The First Avenger did not have any extra deleted scenes but there was something very cool that made up for it.

The disc contained the Agent Couldson (Clark Gregg) doing an intro for each of the six films. These intros were used for the Avengers premiere in which there was a marathon in theatre of the six films back to back. It was a brilliant way to further link the films and a way to give Coulson more screen time. Both things I am extremely happy about.

Bonus Blu Ray Score:  8/10

THE COLLECTIBLES

This is where the actual “money” is for this set, There are LOTS of collectibles included. I really loved the S.H.I.E.L.D. file folders being included for each character. The small subtleties are what really makes them stand out. Whether it is the coffee cup ring on Tony’s file, the World War II style of Captain America’s folder or the black folder that contains classified information on Black Widow, Hawkeye, The Tesseract or Item 47….it is a very simple but cool addition.

There are also lots of different cards that came with the set as well. S.H.I.E.L.D. access cards, Agent Coulson’s personal business card, Captain America’s trading cards and the most surprising is the card for Aldrich Killian of the Advanced Idea Mechanics, other wise known as A.I.M. The reason why it is a huge surprise is that Killian is from the upcoming Iron Man 3 movie that will hit theatres in May,

I really liked the “odd” pieces that they included as well. The pages about the Bifrost that Dr Selvig was looking at in the Norse mythology book, the coffee stained napkin that Tony Stark wrote down that “We no longer make weapons,” Captain America’s drawing he drew when he felt that he was nothing but a monkey on a stage when he ws performing fore the troops, a label from the soda plant where Bruce Banner worked as he hid from General Ross….I could go on and on!

Collectibles Score: 10/10

As someone who owns all 6 of the Marvel movies on Blu Ray already, I have to say that this “Avengers Assembled” set is one of the best collector’s editions that I have acquired. It has surpassed the Generation 1 Transformers “Matrix Of Leadership” edition that I received as a Christmas gifts a few years ago.

There could be some changes cosmetically to the brief case that would make the case come off a little less “cheap” and having deleted scenes from Captain America and The Incredible Hulk would have made the special features disc feel more complete but these are ultimately minor gripes in the grand scheme of things.

Any Marvel / Comic Book fan would love this set!

Final Score: 9/10

===========================================================================

Check out my Pod Cast here: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5B05279A34ACFAC6&feature=plcp

“Like” My Facebook Page here: https://www.faceb0ook.com/

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in About Me, Comics, Movies, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

