Bye Bye Miss American Pie…..

RockBand_Logo_jpg_650x10000_q85It is with a heavy heart that I type out a farewell to the weekly downloadable content that has been released for many years by Harmonix for their Rock Band series of games. It was announced weeks ago that the last of any new DLC for the game would be available on Tuesday April 2, 2013 and that it would be a single song. The song is rather fitting for being the day that any new music for the game has “died” and that song is “American Pie” by Don McLean.

I have been a huge supporter of the Rock Band series since it’s inception and I boast Rock Band, Rock Band 2, Rock Band 3, Rock Band: AC/DC Track Pack, Rock Band: Green Day, Lego Rock Band and Rock Band: The Beatles all sitting on my shelf above my television. I have also a collection of music in the game of almost 1000 songs to date. It is so hard to believe that the weekly ritual of checking what new DLC is coming out every Friday is now done.

rockband2_large

The folks at Harmonix did not just give me the chance to play music in a video game format, but they also introduced me to some amazing music and bands that I never knew existed before this game.  Whether it was official releass like “Hard Rock Hallejuah” by Lordi or |Far Away From Heaven” by Free Spirit, Rock Band exposed me to music that has had a major impact on me and I am forever thankful.

I have been lucky to see some of my favorite bands represented in the game throughout it’s lifetime. KISS< Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, 3 Doors Down. Ozzy, Alice Cooper and even Nightwish has a song in the game. I was really hoping to see “Amaranth” by Nightwish as the first of many songs by one of my favorite bands to enter the game, but I will take just that one track if that is all I can have.

The above is a brief history of Rock Band with insight from the development team as they all sing “American Pie” in the background. That is the moment that I truly came to terms with everything. Harmonix said that they are going to keep the music store open so people can purchase previously released tracks and they also announced that they would keep supporting the Rock Band Network live  (it seems only for Xbox 360 owners however) so that people can author and sell tracks that they want to share.

Thanks for the many years of content and the countless hours of enjoyment that I have gotten out of this game. I will still play it until they take the servers offline.

===========================================================================

Check out my Pod Cast here: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5B05279A34ACFAC6&feature=plcp

“Like” My Facebook Page here: https://www.faceb0ook.com/

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in About Me, Music, Video Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

