A Random Sunday Of Randomness

As I am sitting here watching a TV special on how American Society is going to crumble due to their overuse of resources, I decided to write a random hodge podge post of 5 things that may not warrant a full blog post right now. It is not that I would not want to do full blog on any of these topics but it is that I am more or less in the mindset for a multi topic blog that touches on multiple topics.

So Let’s get to it!!!

The Toronto Blue Jays

What a difference a few weeks make eh? As a Jays fan, I am used to seeing the team either overachieve or underachieve but never have I witnessed them deal with so many injuries to important players as I have this season. Brandon Morrow, Jose Bautista, Adam Lind, Brett Lawrie and Sergio Santos all missed huge amounts of time this season.

A season in which Jose Bautista, Ricky Romero, Edwin Encarnacion, Colby Lewis and Brett Lawrie were all poised to have either break out or career years, has been slowly degraded away due to the huge injury bug that is hanging over the ball club.

The team had a chance to make the post season for the first time since their back to back World Series titles back in the early 90’s and the fans of the team knew it. That is what truly makes it all so much harder to accept.

See you in 4 more years

I watched some of the coverage of the Summer Olympic Games in London but pretty much swore off the rest of the games after watching the travesty that occurred in the Canada vs USA Women’s soccer game. I will admit that I do not watch a lot of soccer but this was one hell of an entertaining game that was tarnished by a referee who seemingly wanted the USA to move on to the Gold medal game.

I sat in shock as the referee decided the out come of the game and was disgusted that that same referee will always over shadow a gutsy performance by the Canadian team. I am much more a fan of the Winter Games as I find the events much more enjoyable. Maybe it is that I prefer the Winter season so much.

Warrior starring Tom Hardy

I am a huge fan of the “Rocky” franchise and I am a huge fan of underdog overcoming the odds sports movies. I bought this blu ray without seeing the film, as I assumed that I would enjoy it and boy did I ever. This movie is this generation’s Rocky just as MMA is this generation’s boxing. The cast was fantastic and the story ramped up from a slow start to an amazing crescendo.

The movie is really multiple story lines that ends up boiling to just a single one but the journey we have to take to get there is simply amazing. The story may follow the tried and true “underdog has to overcome the odds to not just prove himself to the world but prove things to himself” story idea but it works so flawlessly.

Best compliment I can give this movie is I was cheering the in the film’s final MMA fight for the underdog out loud. Easily a 9/10 on the awesome movie scale.

Thor Volume 4????

So Marvel has announced that they are going to a “Marvel Now” event in which they switch around the creative teams on their major titles and do something of a soft relaunch, apparently not a reboot, that will also feature changes to the looks of those character’s. My fain focus/worry is on Thor of course.

The new creative team is Jason Aaron, who will handle the writing duties and Esad Ribic working the pencils. I am familiar with Ribic as he has drawn Thor before but Aaron’s work is very foreign to me. I am at the point that I would welcome anyone so we can get Matt Fraction off of the title, so I am willing to give him a chance but his ideas have me intrigued.

In an interview with Newsarama he said he first arc would be:

“I do flash back and show a young Thor in action, but he’s actually just one of three Thors that I want to focus on. This first story is an epic tale that plays out over the course of thousands of years. So we spend time with young Thor in the Viking age — the young, hotheaded god of the Vikings, who loves to come down to Midgard and get into trouble.

In the present, we see Thor the Avenger on a journey that takes him to the far corners of space, interacting with all sorts of new space gods and wondrous new locations.

And then we also see old King Thor, who’s the last king of Asgard, thousands of years in the future, where something has gone horribly, horribly wrong.

Linking all these eras and Thors together is one villain, an all-new character, who is basically, at least initially, a serial killer of gods. He’s a guy with a serious axe to grind against all immortal beings in the cosmos, and he’s going around doing his best to kill them all off, one at a time, as brutally as possible. That villain’s story unfolds over the course of all these different eras. He starts as a serial killer of gods, but by the end, he has become something even more frightening.”

This has me interested at least, which I guess is what they wanted.

 

==========================================================

Check out my Pod Cast here: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5B05279A34ACFAC6&feature=plcp

“Like” My Facebook Page here: https://www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog

Follow me on Twitter: @jhuskins

 

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in Baseball, blog, Comics, Hockey, Movies, Television. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

