Will It Truly Be Amazing?????

I will readily admit that when I heard the news that Marvel and Sony were wanting to reboot the Spider-Man movie franchise, I was initially very skeptical. The last Spider-Man movie from the previous movie franchise was just released 5 years ago. Yes, you read that correctly. The last installment was a very uncoordinated mess that really drove the franchise into the ground and only happened in 2007.

The first thing I was curious about was the casting of Peter Parker aka Spider-Man. I will say that I never truly bought into Tobey Macguire as Parker / Spidey. I really can not put my finger on why per say, but I do know that to me he never really seemed to embrace the role and truly become the character. This was really evident in the third movie, and it just felt that Maguire was uncomfortable in his own skin.

The newest actor tapped to play the webslinger is little known actor Andrew Garfield. Born in L.A. California but raised in England, the young man had his first real movie role as Eduardo Saverin in “The Social Network.” Could he possibly tackle a role in which he needs to convey action, drama, action and a sense of humour?

Amazing!!!

From the trailer I have seen so far and the footage that Marvel has released so far, I can honestly say that I am extremely pleased with what I see. Even though the costume has been tweaked to stray from the traditional costume, it really did grow on me. As well, I was extremely pleased to see Spidey using webshooters instead of his webs being organic  based from his mutation from the spider bite.

The thing that really stood out to me was the performance of Andrew Garfield. As I watch the various trailers and footage, I begin to see something. I begin to recognize something that I was very excited to see. I did not see Andrew Garfield as the footage was unfolding in front of me. Nope, I didn’t see him at all. I saw Peter Parker and his alter ego The Amazing Spider-Man and this already has me sold that this will be best the Spider-Man movie so far.

The reason for this is that Garfield has not only embraced the chance to play this character and breath new life into it, but also is a huge fan of the character. It transcends his performance and shines through every piece of dialogue and scene that he is in. That is what was missing from the three previous Spider-Man movies and Tobey Macguire’s performance in them. It was lacking heart.

Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy

So to answer the question I posed in the subject of this blog. Will it be amazing? I believe it will and it will usher in a new era for the Spider-Man franchise. It will wash away the bad taste that Spider-Man 3 left us with and it will be very successful at reaching the fans, because a fan is playing the lead role.

Here is a snippet of what I am talking about. At Comic Con last year, “The Amazing Spider-Man” panel was about to be introduced to the fans when a fan ran up to the microphone that would be used to ask the panel questions. He was dressed in a very low end Spider-Man costume and ignored requests to return to his seat. Then he began to talk about how he dreamed his whole life of being at Comic Con dressed as Spider-Man, how he was so excited for this movie, how Spider-Man saved his life when he was young and meant the world to him and how much it meant to him to where the costume.

As he removed the mask, the convention hall erupted in cheers as it was Andrew Garfield standing in the costume. His voice was shaky from nervousness and emotion and it sounded like he would erupt into tears at any moment. A very cool and amazing moment and the moment that I knew that he was the right choice to play the role.

So yes, it is going to be amazing!!! Here is the video of the Comic Con moment:

Check out my Pod Cast here: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5B05279A34ACFAC6&feature=plcp

“Like” My Facebook Page here: https://www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog

Follow me on Twitter: @jhuskins

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in Comics, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

