Trimming Down The Avengers

As I was browsing one of my many comic book resource web sites early this morning, I always scour for any news on the upcoming Marvel Studios mega blockbuster “The Avengers.” During this normal routine for me I saw something that shocked me and could disappoint me about the movie. What could have me thinking I may be disappointed about one of the most anticipated movies of all time?

Director Joss Whedon stated that he cut the film down from 3 hours to 2 hours and 15 minutes. That is 45 minutes of the movie we will NOT see!! Even though the movie is still clocking in as the longest Marvel Studios movie yet, I can not help but wonder what was in that 45 minutes. Here is how the movies will stack up length wise:

  • Iron Man: 126 minutes
  • The Incredible Hulk: 112 minutes
  • Iron Man 2: 124 minutes
  • Thor: 114 minutes
  • Captain America: The first Avenger: 124 minutes
  • The Avengers: 135 minutes

Earth's Mightiest Heroes

Let’s hear from the man himself. As per http://www.screenrant.com Whedon had this to say:

“My first cut was three hours long and it’s now down to 2 hours and 15 minutes, and I’m extremely proud of that. I had always intended to go over two, under two and a half. There was no way a movie with this many great actors and this much epic scope was gonna clock in under two and not feel a little anemic, somebody wasn’t gonna get their moment if that happened. But at the same time, I get very angry that romantic comedies run over two hours long, it’s like ‘Guys, that’s not okay.’ More isn’t more. I don’t want anything in the movie that shouldn’t be.”

It really sounds like Whedon had the core concept of the team in  mind and did not want fans to think any character was short changed. That is a good thing. He does say he always intended for the movie to fall into the 135 to 150 minute range but it is the next part that really disappointed me a bit as I was hoping to see the footage on Blu-Ray.

“No [there won’t be a director’s cut on the DVD]. I… believe very strongly in putting the director’s cut into the theaters. I believe that the director’s cut is the best movie for the studio and the best version of the movie for the audience. I’ve never really been in a situation where I had to pull the beating heart out of something that I did. I think people get to see a lot of extraordinary extras because I did shoot a bunch of stuff that I love, but the movie is the movie I want it to be.”

To not release the footage in a Director’s Cut is a mistake and yes, I would love to see the footage placed back into the continuity of the original film. Atleast release it as deleted scenes, all 45 minutes of it, which sounds like may be the case according to Whedon. I am usually not on board for a movie to be released several times but I do think that Marvel, and it’s parent company Disney, would make a ton of money if they release an “Ultimate Director’s Cut” of the film.

In my life time I can not ever remember having this much hype, anticipation and risk attached to it. Marvel has “placed all of it’s eggs in one basket” after painstakingly doing all the right things to link four independent movie franchises into a single mega franchise. The pay off is going to be huge for both Marvel and us, the fans.

AVENGERS ASSEMBLE!!!!!!

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in Comics, Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trimming Down The Avengers

  1. Bubbawheat says:

    I think I’m more inclined to agree with Joss’s decision. An “extended cut” is not always the same as a “director’s cut”. There may very well be an extended cut that gets released against Joss’s wishes, but often scenes get deleted for a reason, usually for pacing reasons, sometimes for other reasons. A lot of the time, it’s better to view those scenes as deleted scenes rather than have an extra long movie that you never find time to watch. I love the extended editions of Lord of the Rings, but I’ve only watched them once since buying them just for the fact that they’re so long I just don’t often have the time to watch them all the way through.

Leave a Reply

