Seeing The Beauty In Others….My Sister Krista

Krista Huskins

“That’s why I began doing makeup in the first place: I was hoping that through helping people see the beauty in themselves, I could try and find it in me.  -Kevyn Aucoin “

I have previously written blogs about my sister Kelsie, who is a model, and my sister Tasha, who is a photographer. So I decided it was about time to highlight another Huskins sibling, my sister Krista Huskins. The answer is yes of course, the tattoos and the hair colouring are both real.

Krista completed her College course and training last year to become a certified make-up technician. This allows her to ply her trade as a licensed make-up artist. She has already done the make-up for models in various photo shoots and runway shows in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Krista applying make-up.

There is definite flamboyance and creativeness to Krista’s personality and imagination. She has dyed her hair painstakingly  section by section to create a rainbow effect, she loves to add tattoos to her ever growing collection, she is blessed with the same sense of humor and imagination as her older brother.

When Krista is about to apply make-up, it is something to see. I have been present when she did the make-up for my sisters Kelsie and Erika, and it is really something to see her calculate the right make-up for the job.

She will ask what the person is looking to have done, size up if that design and the colors will work with the outfit, hairstyle and complexion of the person. I will be honest and say that I never truly saw the make-up application process as a huge process, but then again, I am a male and my only real reference for make-up application is KISS.

The other thing that I noticed was that Krista loved enhancing the beauty of the girls. She knows that make-up shouldn’t be used as a tool “to make me pretty” but instead it is a tool to enhance the natural beauty that is already present in the person.

Photo Shoot for my sister Erika

“I have always loved hair and make-up. Right from the time my mom (god love her) started letting me play around with make-up. It was fun to try and give myself a “look” I saw in a magazine and play around with colours. To make myself feel like a totally diffrent person. Then I grew up and realized a few things….makeup is not meant to change how you look….it is meant to bring out and empahize all the natrual beauty you have. Everyone sees beauty differently. Also, make-up doesn’t make you pretty on the inside. I have had a chance to work with some awesome make-up artists in my town who i love and they inspire me. I attended cosometology school and furtherd my knowlegde of beauty. I remeber,some people saying things to me like “Oh,that’s an easy course…you’ll never find work” or “makeup is impractical”. And I would just think to myself about all the crazy things I had to learn such as, chemistry,and every single muscle and bone in the human face. Just so you all know….it was not an easy course. So, if I could do it all over again and listen to everyone who told me how silly it was to take makeup artistry…. would I go to school for makeup???…..the answer is in a pretty little heart beat! ” – Krista Huskins

“”

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeing The Beauty In Others….My Sister Krista

  1. Linda A. Stradella says:

    very nice…all your sisters are beautiful and talented

Leave a Reply

