Kelsie Renee, A Model, My Sister.

This blog is a little different than any other that I have already written in my previous instalments. It is not about any of my hobbies, any of my views on a certain situation and it is about something a little bit closer to home. This is a blog about my sister Kelsie Renee.

Kelsie is a full time professional in the work force here in Nova Scotia but is also a model during her free time. She has already put a lot of time and effort into modeling, even though she is only 24 years old. It is something that she was just doing as a hobby int he beginning but she started to get a lot of attention and found that she had a passion for the business.

Photographer: Anthony Ha Hair & Make up: Kelsie Renee Wardrobe: Kelsie Renee Location: Intervalia Studio One - Dartmouth NS Date: May 2011

My reason for dedicating a blog to Kelsie and her modeling career is that I want to assist her in any way that I can to get her name out there. She has already competed in various runway shows here in Nova Scotia, done countless photo shoots with photographers both locally and those who have travelled from the United States to do a shoot with her and just recently this past weekend was selected to be a ring girl at a Mixed Martial Arts event in Nova Scotia.

Kelsie and I spent a good half hour last week toying with the idea of a blog being written by her big brother about her modeling career and for the chance to open up another potential avenue for networking for her. I had many ideas about how to proceed with this. Should I write a biography? Should I give history on Kelsie’s decision to star modeling? Or would I just let the pictures do the talking and I present a medium for them to speak? I went with the third option.

Photographer: Tedrah McCort Make up: Tedrah McCort Hair: Tanya Giffin Wardrobe: Tedrah McCort Location: Eastern Passage-Photography by Tedrah Studio Date: March 2011

We saw this blog as an attempt to use our combined talents to work on a project together. My writing, as it is with usually any writer, is a solo project as it is coming from a personal space inside myself. I have to have a passion to craft the words in my head into either a story, a screenplay or a blog.

Kelsie’s creativity is in a whole other ballpark. It is something that is just as creative and intensive as writing a song, drawing a picture or sculpting clay. She has to look within herself, be confident in what she sees and then be be willing to express it to the world.

Photographer: Tedrah McCort Make up: Tedrah McCort Hair: Tanya Giffin Wardrobe: Tedrah McCort Location: Eastern Passage-Photography by Tedrah Studio Date: March 2011

“Modeling really allows me to tap into my inner creativity. It is a way of self expression in my eyes. It is different than writing as I am not using an instrument to complete the art, I am the instrument and the art is created with me. When I get behind the camera, I really feel like I am someone different. I was in a music video just the other weekend and the director said it is like I have a split personality as soon as the camera is on me.”

This chance to write about Kelsie’s modeling is a fun project that has not felt like the others I have written. Usually I will sit down with a goal in my mind and then plot out the steps to get to it. I will incorporate pictures as a guide to allow the reader to see what I am seeing in my mind as I write the words. This is different. In this case I am using the words to fill in around the pictures.

Photographer: Dean Aubie Hair & Make up: Kelsie Renee Wardrobe: Kelsie Renee Location: Roof top of Fred's Cafe Date: November 2011

If you wish to contact Kelsie Renee, you can like her Facebook Model page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kelsie-Renee-Model/126363920807890

or you can email her at: kelsieh100@msn.com

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kelsie Renee, A Model, My Sister.

  1. Kelsie Renee says:

    Love ya big bro!!! Thanks so much :o)

Leave a Reply

