And There Came A Day………..

“And there came a day… a day unlike any other… when Earth’s mightiest heroes found themselves united against a common threat… to fight the foes no single superhero could withstand… on that day, The Avengers were born. “

When I first saw the teaser video with Samuel L Jackson narrating those lines I will admit, I was just a wee bit excited. Scratch that, a whole helluva (sorry Mr. T) alot excited. With the first official trailer being released on Tuesday October 11, 2011, I am eve MORE excited.  I wanted to wait a few days to let the trailer sink into my thick skull and I also wanted a chance to view it a few more times. First, in case you have not seen it yet, here is the trailer:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOrNdBpGMv8

So on to my thoughts. The first thing I noticed and liked is that Loki is coming across as a major bad ass and a major threat. Both of these things are needed and awesome. It looks like in a few shots of Loki in action, that he has the Cosmic Cube inserted into a  spear/sword weapon. As we know with our comic history, Loki was the reason that The Avengers originally formed. I love that they have not just left that legacy intact but also enhanced it. Tom Hiddleston’s portrayal of Loki is amazing and dangerous.

The highlight of the trailer was the interaction of Tony Stark with Captain America and Bruce Banner. Robert Downey Jr being cast as Iron Man may be one of the greatest actor choices in Hollywood history. The man is so believable in this role. It is almost like Downey is channeling parts of himself for the role as it is very natural. We know from the Iron Man movies that Nick Fury wants Tony only as a consultant to the Avengers Initiative but the trailer clearly shows him in action. (((Here is my take. Tony notices the destruction going on around him and decides to ignore Fury’s order of being a consultant and jumps into the fray.)))

If there was an actor born to play the role of Nick Fury, it was Samuel Jackson. Some may not know but Jackson’s Fury is based on the character of Marvel’s Ultimate Universe. In truth, Marvel based the appearance of the character on Jackson specifically. Even though he has had a cameo in Iron Man, Iron Man 2, Thor and Captain America, we have not seen much of the character for a prolonged period of time and I am eager to see what he brings to the equation.

I think it is a natural transition to go from one man of many cameos to another. Agent Coulson was given more screen time in Thor than any of his previous appearances in Marvel’s films. To be honest, Coulson is almost the face of S.H.I.E.L.D. to the movie going public as he has been the guy at the top of the food chain whenever he appeared in a film. It will be interesting to see him answer to Director Fury but I really like the character and think he will shine.

I know you all are probably wondering why I am waiting to discuss my favorite comic book character and favorite Avenger but I did it for a reason. Thor will be a major player and an important cog in the Avengers machine. He may be the most powerful character in the group (easy Hulk fans, I do not mean just strength here) and will have the most emotional investment in the story. Remember that Thor will have to deal with the news that Loki survived and then deal with the orders to stop him. There is a clip in the trailer that shows Fury confronting Thor and asking “What are you prepared to do?” This tells me that Thor is torn between doing what is right and Loki. This will be the most character development we see int he movie for any character.

I really enjoyed Chris Evans as Captain America and felt he nailed the dual role of both Captain America and weakling Steve Rogers. In the trailer we see Captain America chastising Tony Stark, using machine guns, being thrown from a building and fighting Thor. There are many theories on why he is fighting Thor and I have two of my own. Either Loki is manipulating the situation or it is a S.H.I.E.L.D. training exercise. The reason I am leaning towards an exercise as any footage we see of Thor fighting in the open public he is wearing his movie costume battle armor. We only see him in the sleeveless costume in the S.H.I.E.L.D. headquarters and I think it is his “S.H.I.E.L.D. ” uniform.

Wow is all I can say. Scarlett Johansson as the Black Widow is amazing and also very, very, very hot. We got to see a glimpse of Widow in action in Iron Man 2 and she brings a very different set of skills to the team, get your minds out of the gutter! Her fighting style is much more of a Mixed Martial Arts basis. She will use gadgets and hand guns as well, but Widow shines in the moments that she can overwhelm her opponents with her technique and speed. Plus, she is extremely freaking hot!

The weak link of the team is The Hulk. Now, I am saying that because he has the least stability to his movie franchise as Mark Ruffalo will be the third actor to play Bruce Banner in three films. I think they will give Hulk the best bits strength wise in the movie to compensate for the Hulk fans having to deal with the character’s movies being less than stellar, but I truly did like The Incredible Hulk but that is mostly for the acting of Edward Norton. I did read where this will be the first Hulk to be based on the actual movements of the actor and not just entirely CGI, so I am intrigued.

Clint Barton aka Hawkeye is the movie rookie of the group. Jeremy Renner will reprise the role had as a small cameo in Thor. I will say in the very small amount of time we see Hawkeye in Thor, Renner nailed Barton’s sense of humor and smart ass attitude. Hawkeye will start as a S.H.I.E.L.D. agent and will also bring a different dynamic to the team. He is a crack shot and would make a great partner for Black Widow as their styles are so different but would mesh so well.

So there you have it. May 4, 2012 can NOT come quick enough for me and I am waited very impatiently for the time to roll by. Marvel is going out on a limb here by putting all their apples in one basket but I have to say I think The Avengers will rule next summer’s box office, sorry Batman and Spider-Man.

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

