Maybe The Greatest Game Ever….

I want to start this rant by saying that I love Halo. No matter if it is the original Halo Combat Evolved and Halo 2 on the first Xbox system or Halo 3, Halo 3 ODST and Halo Wars on the Xbox 360….I love Halo. Master Chief may be the most important character in history in regards to helping a brand new system not just launch but become successful. The only other one I can think of is Crash Bandicoot for the original Playstation. Now before Nintendo fans start to riot and shouting in Japanese, remember Nintendo had quite a few different characters in their fold the first year they launched the Nintendo Entertainment System.

It was with great excitement and anticipation that I loaded my Halo Reach Collector’s Edition into my Xbox 360 for the first time. I have been playing the game through with my brother, Josh and the first thing I want to say is I love that I can customize my Noble 6 Spartan to look however I want. Of course I colored my armour all black and had him look different than the rest of Noble team. I did recieve free armour codes for unique items that I did redeem and use in game.

Now onto the best part of Halo Reach, the story. This narrative is somewhat already known as Reach is a prequel to the very first Halo game and we know during that time that Reach is lost but an important AI is secured by the humans due to a brave Spartan warrior. The warrior that sets up the relationship between Master Chief and the AI….. is you. You are Noble 6, a new member of the elite Spartan Noble unit.

Bunjie did a fantastic job of crafting such a heroic, fulfilling and yet sad story that it had me hooked. I was so emotionally involved throughout the game that I truly felt pride when Noble 6 (my character) did the right thing, that I think I actually smiled as  I shed a tear. Even though we know that Reach falls and all the Spartans are wiped out, except for Master Chief, the story somehow has you forgetting this. It somehow pulls you in for the moment.

Here is the best advice I can give to anyone wanting to experience the most out of Reach….LET THE CREDITS ROLL TO THE END! You will not be disappointed as Bunjie follows Marvel in adding a bonus after you think the game is over. What a bonus it is. It definately gives you a sense of closure to a fantastic story.

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in Video Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

