It Can’t Rain All The Time….

Anyone who knows me, knows that The Crow has been my favorite movie of all time up until this year when a certain film about a certain Thunder God finally toppled Eric Draven from the top of the roost. Pun intended. The character and story, which was originally a comic book mini series written and drawn by James O’Barr, translated well to film and I had very mixed emotions when I read that there was going to be a “remake” or “re-imaging” of the film.

I am very passionate about this film and believe it truly touches nerves in everyone about love, pain and setting the wrong things right. It worked because it is about emotions that we all deal with at some point in our lives. The strengths of the film were definately Brandon Lee’s acting and the amazing soundtrack. Even today when I hear “Burn” by The Cure, I think of Eric running across the rooftops.

I did see some promising news on a movie website about the potential new Crow film and I will share that now:

==========================================================================================

According to Mania.com, the new movie will not focus on creator James O’Barr’s original Crow, Eric Draven, a rock musician who is murdered trying to rescue his girlfriend from thugs and returns from the dead a year later to exact vengeance.

It will instead be “an all-new take on the mythology of resurrection and revenge.”

Norrington is preparing to deliver his script later this month and it’s reported that the story is “very different from the original – a whole new story about a whole new character.”

Thirteen different people so far have taken on the Crow persona in the various comics, movies and novels.

Norrington had earlier told Variety: “Whereas [Alex] Proyas’ original was gloriously gothic and stylised, the new movie will be realistic, hard-edged and mysterious, almost documentary-style.”

============================================================================================

This does sound interesting I am more open to seeing it right now, as I feel a new interpretation of the mythos is fine. I just do not want another actor stepping into the role UNLESS (yes, there is an unless) they follow the comic book/graphic novel story completely. As it varies quite a bit from the movie that was made based on it. Even though the main character is the same, it would feel like a different story due to the variances in the story.

I will step back and not let “Fan boy” goggles cloud my view of the project until I see it. I tend to be open to different interpretations, even if they are radically different from what I was expecting.

About Jason Huskins

"Like" the Facebook page: www.facebook.com/RandomRantsTheBlog
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

